Travel Resources: COVID-19
The health and safety of our visitors is our top priority. The Maine Tourism Association will keep visitors up to date with current closures, travel precautions, and resources related to COVID-19.
UPDATES TO CHECKLISTS AND OPENING DATES ARE GENERALLY POSTED ON WEDNESDAYS BY 5 PM ON THE DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT WEBSITE.
Click on these items to learn more:
Latest State Law Updates
The only states exempt from travel restrictions are New Hampshire and Vermont (see more below).
All of the State of Maine Frequently Asked Questions for both visitors and lodging establishments regarding testing and quarantine can be found on this site. Segments of that information is below.
Out-of-state Visitor Information
Maine has three options for visitors to or from other states:
1) getting a recent negative COVID-19 test (further defined below);
2) maintaining compliance with a 10-day quarantine (PDF) upon arrival in Maine;
3) being exempted from the testing or quarantine requirement if you are a resident of the following states: New Hampshire, Vermont. (NOTE: The exemption for Connecticut, New York and New Jersey ended Nov. 4, 2020. The exemption for Massachusetts ended Nov. 16, 2020.) This policy applies to Maine residents who travel to non-exempt states as well as non-exempt states’ residents who travel to Maine. It also applies for day trips (e.g., a trip from Maine to Rhode Island for medical appointments or shopping).
Certificate of Compliance
People who are not residents of Maine or states exempt from quarantine requirements will be asked if they seek lodging (described below) to sign a Certificate of Compliance PDF) indicating either that they have received a recent negative COVID-19 test result, that they will quarantine in Maine for 10 days (or the full duration of their stay if fewer than 10 days), or that they have already completed their quarantine in Maine. This compliance form must be provided to check-in at all Maine lodging, including but not limited to campgrounds, seasonal rentals, overnight camps, and other commercial lodging, such as Airbnb. Visitors may be asked to furnish proof of the negative test result upon request.
Maine residents who visit an exempt state are not required to quarantine or test upon returning to Maine. However, if people visit other states or nations, they are required to either quarantine for 10 days or get a negative test.
Seasonal homeowners, workers traveling to Maine, and other visitors may also utilize a recent negative COVID-19 test as an alternative to the required 10-day quarantine in Maine.
Essential workers continue to be exempt from testing and quarantine requirements if they are traveling to Maine to perform essential work, or are from Maine and are traveling out-of-state for essential work and returning home. Essential workers that have not received a negative test result upon return to Maine must quarantine for 10 days when not performing essential work. And essential workers traveling to or from non-exempt states for purposes other than essential work (e.g., dropping off a child at college) are subject to the test or quarantine requirement.
Visitors may choose to quarantine at their rental or place of lodging if they follow Maine CDC’s guidelines for quarantine. For rural camps and remote rental locations with private kitchen and bathroom facilities, quarantine may be possible for the duration of a visit to Maine. Visitors who are quarantining during their stay in Maine must comply with Maine’s quarantine requirements (PDF) and they may not visit Maine restaurants, businesses, and crowded public spaces and they may not use shared facilities and dining rooms.
Test Before Arrival
Maine strongly urges visitors to test before entering Maine to “know before you go.” However, testing capacity in Maine is available and expanding and reservations can be made before arrival. COVID-19 tests are available in Maine without referral from a medical professional under a standing order issued by the Maine Department of Health and Human Services. Accessible testing sites in Maine can be found on the Keep Maine Healthy website. Websites like Get Tested COVID-19 show local testing options nationwide. But visitors are strongly urged to get tested before they travel.
An individual arriving in Maine from a non-exempt state should have a sample taken for a COVID-19 molecular or antigen test no longer than 72 hours prior to arrival in Maine. If awaiting the test results upon arrival in Maine, the individual must quarantine until a result is available. The result must indicate the individual is COVID-19 negative. Alternatively, the individual may commit to quarantining upon arrival in Maine for 10 days.
If visitors were tested for COVID-19 upon their arrival in Maine and do not yet have test results, they must quarantine in their room or rental until they receive a negative test result. They must arrange for meals to be delivered to their room and must avoid contact with staff, guests, and others until their negative test result is received. Use of shared public spaces, dining spaces, gyms and pools is prohibited during quarantine.
Molecular (i.e. PCR-based) and antigen tests are accepted. Antibody testing is not accepted for this purpose at this time. Please consult Maine CDC's updated guide on interpreting test results, which is available here (PDF).
Information for lodging establishments and rentals.
People who are not residents of Maine or an exempted state must complete a Certificate of Compliance (PDF) form stating that they have received a negative COVID-19 test result, have already quarantined in Maine, or will quarantine in Maine for 10 days. This form must be provided and filled out either prior to or at the time of check-in. The visitor will also submit that they are not currently experiencing COVID-19 symptoms.
Lodging establishments, campgrounds, rentals, and other short-term rentals must inform guests of Maine’s quarantine or testing requirement and are encouraged to send copies of the Certificate of Compliance to guests prior to arrival. There must be printed copies for guests to fill out upon arrival, if they haven’t provided one in advance.
Lodging establishments will retain a copy of all Certificates of Compliance for 30 days. They can also document the date of the first night of entry in Maine for the guest, and any other guests in the party, in case they are traveling elsewhere for an additional stay and need to show verification of the first night of stay in Maine.
Other ways to enjoy Maine:
- Order your FREE Maine Travel Planners
- Follow along on Facebook and Instagram to help inspire your next trip
- Buy a gift certificate from a Maine business to use on your next vacation
- Purchase merchandise online from local businesses here in Maine
- Share your favorite Maine business or favorite photos of Maine on your social media and tag @Mainetourism
Travel Information from the Maine CDC
MAINE BUSINESS INFORMATION
COVID-19 Prevention Checklists can be found here.
NOTE: There are no open grant programs at this time.
For questions about any of the business regulations, contact DECD at firstname.lastname@example.org or 1-800-872-3838
Communicating Quarantine and Testing Requirements to Guests
Lodging establishments or rental managers are required, at the time of reservation or prior to the guests stay, to inform visitors of Maine’s requirements for quarantine or testing and to provide the Certificate of Compliance in advance by phone or electronically, if email or online confirmation is possible, or via the mail if time allows. Reminders and links to Maine’s CDC resources, testing locations, and visitor information, such as this FAQ are encouraged.
Symptoms Checks for Staff
Maine’s COVID-19 Prevention Checklist for Lodging requires symptom checks for all staff daily for compliance. The US CDC has also released guidance for lodging and restaurant businesses which may be helpful in answering additional questions about employee and guest safety. The lodging establishment is not required to do daily symptom checks of all guests, but it may choose to require or request symptom checks for entrance into pools, gyms, bars or other public spaces on the premises.
Healthy travel practices from the CDC:
- Wash your hands often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds especially after you have been in a public place, or after blowing your nose, coughing, or sneezing.
- If soap and water are not readily available, use a hand sanitizer that contains at least 60% alcohol. Cover all surfaces of your hands and rub them together until they feel dry.
- Wear a face covering in public places
- Cover your mouth and nose with a tissue when you cough or sneeze or use the inside of your elbow.
- Avoid touching your eyes, nose, and mouth with unwashed hands.
- Stay home if you are sick, except to get medical care.
- Find the latest travel advisories from the Centers of Disease Control and Prevention