Request your Free

Vacation Planner

Get Planner

Travel Resources

Know Before You Go

Here are some Maine laws and helpful travel tips and resources to make your visit a relaxing and fun experience. Please note that like the rest of the nation, Maine’s tourism businesses are experiencing some staffing shortages. We ask for your kindness and patience should you encounter longer wait times or reduced hours at some businesses and attractions. Thank you!

Out-of-State Visitor Information

Back to Top of List

Acadia National Park

Acadia National Park (Bar Harbor, Maine) requires a park entrance pass and a separate reservation and pass to summit Cadillac Mountain.

 

Visitors over the age of 15 are required to have a park entrance pass which can be purchased in and around the park or online. Park passes also can be purchased at any of the seven State Visitor Information Centers. Get more information on the park here.

 

To drive up Cadillac Mountain, a Cadillac Summit Road Vehicle Reservation is required in addition to the park entrance pass. These cannot be purchased at the park, and must be purchased online ahead of time from May 25 through October 22. The cost is $6 per vehicle.

 

To ease traffic congestion in and around the park, from June 23 through October 10, the Island Explorer provides free bus transportation between park destinations (excluding Cadillac Mountain), carriage road entrances, and trail heads, as well as local communities such as Bar Harbor, Southwest Harbor, Northeast Harbor, Tremont, and Schoodic. For more information, go here.

 

Road Conditions & Traffic Information

For New England 511 trip alerts, sign up here.

 

Cell Phones/Texting While Driving

The use of handheld cell phones while driving is prohibited. Drivers under the age of 18 are completely prohibited from using a cellphone or a handheld electronic device while driving. Texting while driving is prohibited for drivers of all ages.

 

Seatbelts

Maine law requires that all drivers and passengers wear seatbelts.

 

Plastic Bag Ban

Maine has a statewide ban on single use plastic bags. Shoppers are encouraged to bring their own reusable bags. Stores may provide recycled paper bags or reusable bags for their customers at a cost of 5-cents each.

 

Firewood

Maine has banned the import of firewood, including that used for campfires and fireplaces. For more information, go here.

 

Hunting & Fishing Licenses

Hunting and fishing licenses can be purchased, and more information can be found, here.

 

ATV & Snowmobile Registration

Information and online registration can be found here.

 

Boat Registration

Information and online boat registration can be found here.

 

Smoking

Smoking is prohibited in restaurants and in common areas in state parks and historic sites

Smoking is prohibited in a motor vehicle by the operator or an passenger when a person under 16 years of age is present.

 

Marijuana

In order to possess or use non-medical marijuana in Maine, a person must be 21 years of age or older. Adult use marijuana must be purchased within one of Maine's actively licensed adult use marijuana stores. It is illegal to drive under the influence of marijuana. It is also illegal to use marijuana in a vehicle--for both the passenger and the driver. It is illegal to use or possess marijuana if on federal property, such as a national park or a border crossing.

 

Using marijuana in any form (smoking, eating or vaping) isn’t allowed in public places, including amusement parks, ski resorts, sporting and music venues, state and national parks, campsites, playgrounds, sidewalks and roads, marijuana retail businesses, bars, restaurants and outdoor or rooftop cafes. Property owners, landlords, and rental companies can ban the use and possession of marijuana on their premises.

 

Sales Tax

Sales tax is 5.5%; meals tax is 8% and lodging tax is 9%.

 

 

COVID Resources

Back to Top of List

Additional resources:

Healthy Travel Practices From the CDC

Back to Top of List

Healthy travel practices from the CDC:

  • Wash your hands often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds especially after you have been in a public place, or after blowing your nose, coughing, or sneezing.
  • If soap and water are not readily available, use a hand sanitizer that contains at least 60% alcohol. Cover all surfaces of your hands and rub them together until they feel dry.
  • Wear a face covering in public places
  • Cover your mouth and nose with a tissue when you cough or sneeze or use the inside of your elbow.
  • Avoid touching your eyes, nose, and mouth with unwashed hands.
  • Stay home if you are sick, except to get medical care.
  • Find the latest travel advisories from the Centers of Disease Control and Prevention